CSHPS Call for Papers 2013


The Canadian Society for the History and Philosophy of Science (CSHPS)is holding its annual conference as part of the Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences (CFHSS) at the University of Victoria,June 2-4, 2013.

The program committee invites scholars working on the history and philosophy of science to submit abstracts for individual papers or proposals for sessions.Proposals for sessions (3 and 4 paper) are particularly encouraged.

  • Meeting languages.The CSHPS is a bilingual society.  Individual papers may be given in English or French, but efforts to broaden participation are appreciated (e.g. a presentation in English could be accompanied by a PowerPoint in French, and vice versa). Similarly, sessions can be presented in either English or French, but bilingual sessions are especially welcomed.
  • Joint sessions:The CSHPS meeting overlaps with the meeting dates of a number of other member societies of the CFHSS, including the Canadian Historical Association, Canadian Philosophical Association, Canadian Sociological Association, Women’s and Gender Studies et Recherches Féministes, Canadian Society for the History of Medicine and the Environmental Studies Association of Canada. We welcome proposals for joint sessions with these and other societies. However, no talk will be accepted for presentation at more than one society.
  • Number of submissions :Individuals can only submit one abstract for the CSHPS meeting (i.e. either an abstract for an individual paper or and abstract part of a session proposal).
  • Submissions

Deadline: February 1st, 2013

  • Submission email address:  program.cshps@gmail.com
  • Presenters: All presenters must be members of the CSHPS at the time of the meeting. For more information about CSHPS membership, consult: http://www.yorku.ca/cshps1/. 
  • Student Prize: The CSHPS offers the Richard Hadden Award, a book prize for the best student paper presented at the meeting. To be considered for the award, students should submit a copy of their paper by e-mail five weeks prior to the congress(i.e. May 1, 2012) Details of this prize can be found at: http://www.yorku.ca/cshps1/HaddenPrize.htm
  • CFHSS: Information about Congress registration and accommodation will be available at the CFHSS website: http://www.fedcan.ca/.


Programme Committee (2012-2013)

Elizabeth Neswald, Chair (Brock University) eneswald@brocku.ca

Hannah Gay (Simon Fraser University) hgay@sfu.ca

Bryson Brown (University of Lethbridge) brown@uleth.ca